

 $\star\star\star\star\star\star\star\star\star$

The Oklahoma Wheat Commission will hold an election to fill the District IV board seat opening. The election will be held Thursday, May 9, at 1 p.m. at the Cotton County Fair & Expo Center, located at 924 W. Missouri Ave., Walters, OK 73572.

District IV consists of Caddo, Comanche, Cotton, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Kiowa and Tillman counties. All wheat producers within District IV boundaries who are actively engaged in wheat production, have marketed wheat and have paid a check-off fee and left that fee with the commission for the current year are eligible to vote. It will be the responsibility of the producer to prove their eligibility to vote by providing a dated grain elevator receipt including the producer's name and amount of wheat sold and a driver's license or some other form of identification.

Candidates wishing to run in the election must be at least 25 years old, an Oklahoma resident engaged in growing wheat in the district for at least five years and must derive a substantial portion of his/her income from growing wheat. Three nominations will be made at the election, from which the Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture will appoint one person to serve a five-year term with the Oklahoma Wheat Commission. Every wheat producer in the district is urged to participate in this important election.

Event and Election Schedule are as follows:

9 a.m. Oklahoma Wheat Commission May Board Meeting

Noon Lunch provided by Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association

Presentation by Mike Schulte, Oklahoma Wheat Commision executive director

1 p.m. Voters must be checked in and verified by this time and District IV election

promptly begins

